God’s calling on your life: Jeremiah

Some of books in the Old Testament of the Bible can be difficult to understand. You may even wonder if they are applicable to us today. But, oh dear ladies, they do apply! We can use every ounce of wisdom in God’s Word in our very own lives today!

The Word of God is living, breathing, and speaks to us even today. I love reading stories about others in the Bible. What does God accomplish through these people? What can I learn from their lives? I always read the Bible wondering how it applies to ME in MY OWN LIFE. Let’s turn our attention to Jeremiah. What does Jeremiah’s life and story teach us about God? What can we take away from the readings to apply in our own lives?  I believe everything in the Bible is important to God and can be used for our learning.

First of all, I think of Jeremiah’s calling. Just to refresh your memory, here are verses five through ten of chapter one.

5 “Before I formed you in the womb I knew you,

And before you were born I consecrated you;

I have appointed you a prophet to the nations.”

6 Then I said, “Alas, Lord God!

Behold, I do not know how to speak,

Because I am a youth.”

7 But the Lord said to me,

“Do not say, ‘I am a youth,’

Because everywhere I send you, you shall go,

And all that I command you, you shall speak.

8 “Do not be afraid of them,

For I am with you to deliver you,” declares the Lord.

9 Then the Lord stretched out His hand and touched my mouth, and the Lord said to me,

“Behold, I have put My words in your mouth.

10 “See, I have appointed you this day over the nations and over the kingdoms,

To pluck up and to break down,

To destroy and to overthrow,

To build and to plant.”

God knew Jeremiah before he was born… When he was in his mother’s womb… Knowing the purpose he created him for. Then Jeremiah spoke back to the Lord, discouraged, thinking he was unable to do the work God was calling him for. Then in His lovingkindness and majesty the Lord encouraged Jeremiah, assuring him that He would be with him wherever he went, asking him not to be afraid. To top it off, the Lord physically took his hand and touched Jeremiah’s mouth. “Behold, I have put my words in your mouth.” v.9

Wow! A hundred more wows! How unbelievable is that?

Now I ask you to reread the verses above, as if God was speaking to you directly. He formed YOU in the womb. He appointed YOU for your purpose before you were born. He tells YOU not to be afraid. He is with YOU!

Oh, I love that so much! He knows us! He loves us! He created us for a purpose! Our calling may not be as difficult as Jeremiah’s, but I do believe it has great impact for the glory of God. Whether you are a schoolteacher, dentist, stay at home mom, or leader of some kind, God placed you there for a purpose. Many people in the Bible were created for a specific purpose. Think about Esther who was in the right place at the right time and was able to save her people. Think about Noah and his purpose to carry on humanity after the flood. What about Rahab who hid the spies? And ultimately, Jesus Christ! God knew his purpose to be a sacrifice for our sins from the very beginning. Absolutely mindblowing.

Some of us, myself included, still wonder what our calling is. Are we too old to start something new? Are we too afraid to get into unknown territory? Well, if we are still on this earth, he is not done with us yet, and there is much to do for the kingdom of God. I urge you, dear friend, to pray and ask the Lord to show you your calling. There may be something out there that YOU alone were created to accomplish. He has given YOU the talents, experiences, and maybe even trials to fulfill the calling he has for You specifically. Press on in faith. Do not be afraid. Remember, He says He is with us wherever we go. I don’t know about you, but that is both a comfort and a relief. It’s ultimately God doing the work through us for His own glory.

Thank you, Lord, for Jeremiah. Thank you that through his life we can see the ways you used him even when it was difficult and not glamorous. Thank you that you, too, and can use us for your purpose and glory. I pray you would show us our calling in our lives. In the sweet name of Jesus I pray.

Would anyone like to share a particular calling they feel on their life? It always amazes me to hear about specific ministries and groups some people are led to. Maybe it is children, women, the homeless, orphans, or others… Feel free to share your heart here.

*A version of this post appeared on Wayside Women’s Blog.


Posted

in

by

Comments

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started